Looking for Tenders


Ontario combines transport, infrastructure ministries in cabinet shuffle

0 196 Home

by Daily Commercial News

Former Ontario Minister of Infrastructure Bob Chiarelli will head up the new infrastructure and transportation ministry. Linda Jeffrey becomes labour minister and Chris Bentley takes over energy.


The ministries most important to the construction industry saw a change of hands in Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty’s cabinet shuffle.

The combination of Ontario’s infrastructure and transportation ministries creates one of the province’s latest versions of a “super ministry”, which was last seen when energy and infrastructure were combined in 2008. Former Minister of Infrastructure Bob Chiarelli will head up this ministry.

Linda Jeffrey will also pull double duty as she leads the Ministry of Labour and the Ministry Responsible for Seniors.

McGuinty’s smaller 22-member cabinet, down from 28 members, is said to match the reduced Liberal presence at Queen’s Park, falling to 53 seats from 72.

Chris Bentley takes over as the Minister of Energy and Glen Murray is the Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities. Dwight Duncan retains his role as Minister of Finance and is the Deputy Premier. The premier will be in charge of intergovernmental affairs.

Former transportation minister Kathleen Wynne is now the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing and the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs while Madeleine Meilleur will lead the Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services and the Ministry Responsible for Francophone Affairs. Laurel Broten becomes the Minister of Education and maintains her role as the Minister of Women’s Issues. John Milloy is now the Minister of Community and Social Services and house leader. Rick Bartolucci is the Minister of Northern Development and Mines and cabinet chair.

Michael Gravelle is now the Minister of Natural Resources, which includes Forestry. Former Energy Minister Brad Duguid will now head up a combined Ministry of Economic Development and Innovation.

Margarett Best will leave the defunct Ministry of Health Promotion for Consumer Services and become the Minister of Consumer Services. Eric Hoskins is the Minister of Children and Youth Services with former labour minister Charles Sousa the new Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Harinder Takhar and Michael Chan will remain at their respective positions at Government Services and Tourism and Culture. Ted McMeekin will return as Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs and Deb Matthews remains the Minister of Health and Long Term Care.

Next, the Liberals have to nominate candidates for the Speaker before parliament can return with a throne speech.


Related tags

Leave a comment

Or register to be able to comment.

Copyright ConstructConnect TM. All rights reserved. "ConstructConnect" is a dba for CMD Holdings.
The following rules apply to the use of this site:
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement